Home>>Collection>>Your Page>>Archives>>April, 2003

April, 2003

Happy April!
April 6: Daylight Saving Time Begins April 9: Appomattox Court House, End of American Civil War (1865) April 12: Fort Sumter, Start of American Civil War (1861) April 13: Thomas Jefferson's Birthday (1743) April 19: Battle of Lexington-Concord, Start of American Revolution (1775) April 20: Easter April 23: William Shakespeare's Birthday (1564) April 27: Ulysses S. Grant's Birthday (1822)

Sacagawea visits Emerald Bay at Lake Tahoe. Lake Tahoe is located in California and Nevada. It is the highest lake of its size in the United States, it is the third deepest lake in North America, and it is the tenth deepest lake in the world. Sixty-three streams flow into Lake Tahoe, but only one -- the Truckee River -- flows out. Here are some facts about Lake Tahoe:

Elevation: 6229 feet
Length: 22 miles
Width: 12 miles
Shoreline: 71 miles (42 miles in California; 29 miles in Nevada)
Surface Area: 193 square miles or 122,200 acres (70% in California; 30% in Nevada)
Maximum Depth: 1645 feet
Average Depth: 989 feet

Quiet Please-Eaglets Growing
An inspiring story for children of all ages. A true story of how one young boy led a school and community to save the eagles' nesting site. Children are encouraged to learn their voices can be heard.

>>Featured in the Eagles Bookstore
>>Browse our Online Bookstore for books about your favorite Heroes

Archives - Feature Book


At the time of the American Revolution there were thirteen American Colonies. Name them.

>>Need Help?
>>Check Your Answer

Archives - Trivia Question


Did you know Ulysses S. Grant's nickname was "Unconditional Surrender" Grant?

Yes. In February, 1862, Ulysses led the Union forces to victories at Forts Henry and Donelson in Tennessee. He earned the nickname "Unconditional Surrender" Grant at Fort Donelson when he stated to the surrendering General, "No terms except unconditional and immediate surrender can be accepted." Ulysses also won victories at Shiloh, Vicksburg, and Chattanooga.

Ulysses S. Grant

>>Read about Ulysses S. Grant
>>Read about the times in which Ulysses S. Grant lived
>>Browse Ulysses S. Grant's Books
>>View Photos of Ulysses S. Grant

Archives - Did You Know…


Thomas Jefferson. He wrote the Declaration of Independence, was the first Secretary of State, and became the third President.

Thomas Jefferson

>>Read about Thomas Jefferson
>>Visit Thomas Jefferson Links
>>Submit Your Hero

Archives - Who's Your Hero?


What is the difference between the Compromise of 1820 and the Compromise of 1850? (Brandon P.)

The Compromise of 1820 admitted Missouri into the Union as a slave state. It also stated slavery would not be allowed in any state formed north of Missouri's southern border.

When the Compromise of 1820 was passed, the existing territories of the U.S. were either above or below this arbitrary line. This lasted until 1848. In 1848, the United States won the Mexican War and gained new territories in the west. One of these territories was California.

In 1850, California asked to join the Union. The Compromise of 1820 could not settle the issue of slavery in California because California extended across the arbitrary line marking the southern border of Missouri. The Compromise of 1850 tried to settle this dispute.

The Compromise of 1850 admitted California into the Union as a free state, and it stated the other territories recently annexed from Mexico (as a result of the Mexican War) would choose for themselves whether to be a free state or a slave state.

>>Read about the Compromise of 1820
>>Read about the Compromise of 1850
>>Read about the Civil War in our Reading Program

At the time of the American Revolution there were thirteen American Colonies. Name them.

New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Georgia.

Did you know the colonies were divided into three regions called New England, Middle Colonies, and the South? New England was made up of Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Connecticut. The Middle Colonies included New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and Delaware. The South consisted of Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Georgia.

>>Read about the American Revolution
>>Browse the Colonial Times Books
>>Browse Books about these 13 States





Archives Your Page | Quotes | Pictures | Feature Books | Trivia Questions | Did You Know… | Who's Your Hero? | Your Question


Happy Learning!

Email Your Suggestions, Comments, & Questions to info@imahero.com


Home | Collection | Who's Your Hero? | About Us | Privacy | Site Map | Online Store

©1999-2003 StarRise Creations. All rights reserved. The IMA Hero logo
and the IMA Hero bears are trademarks of StarRise Creations.